More than 100 Chaminade students participated in the 15th Annual Celebration of Student Scholarship – Na Liko Na’auao.  Held on April 21, the conference provided a place for the exchange of research ideas and afforded participants a time to celebrate a culture of diversity and scholarship. Open to students from all divisions, the event exhibited 62 projects which demonstrated student learning and research covering a range of disciplines. From Business to Russian politics, from the sciences to the fine arts, students explored in depth their fields of interests.

2017 Na Liko Naauao

Available to answer questions and discuss their projects, the students showcased their exhibits in various forms. Categories included poster presentations, artwork, video and portfolio displays. Presentations were done individually and by small groups and completed in the past academic year. All Chaminade University day undergraduate students who had a faculty sponsor to mentor them through the process were eligible to present.

At the closing ceremony, Chaminade associate provost Patricia Lee-Robinson recalled the early beginnings of the Na Liko Na’auao.  She and Henry Halenani Gomes co-founded the event in 2003. Then the conference only took up half of the Clarence T. C. Ching Conference Center. This year the number of student exhibits nearly overflowed the room’s capacity.

Lee-Robinson reminded the crowd, “President Bro. Bernie and the late President Sue Wesselkamper supported Na Liko from the very beginning 15 years ago.  Since our first Na Liko on April 24, 2003, hundreds of students have participated in this event.” Then turning towards Bro. Ploeger with a lei, she offered the school’s heartfelt gratitude, “We would all like to thank you, Brother, for your unwavering support of undergraduate research at Chaminade.” The crowd applauded in agreement.

Bro. Bernie Ploeger, Arielle Regis (BSN ’17), and Patti Lee-Robinson

Bro. Bernie Ploeger, Arielle Regis (BSN ’17), and Patti Lee-Robinson

Lee-Robinson praised the students for their hard work and pursuit of academic excellence. She also thanked the 21 invaluable faculty mentors and sponsors who motivated, guided and inspired students to pursue their scholarship and publically present their endeavors.

Lee-Robinson also announced the winners of the President Sue Wesselkamper Prize and the Outstanding Mentor Award.

Arielle Regis won the President Sue Wesselkamper Prize, endowed by Henry and Charlotte Clark. Nominated by faculty members Eva Washburn-Repollo, Ph.D. (Communications) and by Edna Magpantay-Monroe, Ed.D. (School of Nursing), Regis was recognized for her academic excellence, community service, leadership and work ethic.  Regis will graduate this spring with her bachelor’s degree in Nursing.

Dr. Allison Paynter and Madison Choi

Dr. Allison Paynter and Madison Choi

Chaminade associate professor of English Allison Paynter, Ph.D. was the recipient of this year’s Outstanding Mentor Award. Nominated by Chaminade student Madison Choi, Paynter continues to be instrumental in opening students’ minds to the value of the Humanities and literature.  She teaches courses on creative writing, poetry, short story and novel, women’s Literature, gender, and ethnicity, and she facilitates the Aulama (Chaminade’s student literary journal). Dr. Paynter inspired Choi’s choice of English as a major.

After the two announcements, it was time for student participants to be recognized. Students had their names individually read aloud as they received their certificates of commendation. The crowd applauded for each student individually in appreciation of the excellence demonstrated.